vRealize Orchestrator – Workflow to change DRS setting to default on single VM

In the post vRealize Orchestrator – Workflow to change DRS setting to default on single VM I presented the workflow to change DRS to manual on single VM. Now it’s the time to change this setting back to the default one, as it was. So to do this it’s quite easy to make a copy of previously create workflow.

And just edit the code of “Scriptable task”, because input parameter and attributes remain the same as in workflow described in previous post. Continue reading

vRealize Orchestrator – Workflow to change DRS setting to manual on single VM

Multiple times in multiple workflows, I needed to have VM not being migrated during the workflow run. Easiest way is to disable DRS on the VM. Well, it seems that DRS setting does not belong to VirtualMachine object, DRS settings is part of the ESX Cluster object. We’re still able to to set setting individually per VM, however it has to be set on ESX Cluster level not on the VM itself. I was pretty sure, that there built-in vRO workflows for such simple setting … However, it’s not. That’s what VMWare offers by default

  • Add DRS virtual machine
  • Add virtual machines to DRS group
  • Create cluster
  • Delete cluster
  • Disable DRS on cluster
  • Disable HA on cluster
  • Enable DRS on cluster
  • Enable HA on cluster
  • Remove virtual machine DRS group from cluster
  • Remove virtual machines from DRS group
  • Rename cluster

If there is a need and there is no solution – it has to be created.

Continue reading